If you create a private box, only you (the owner) and collaborators will be able to access it.
To add a collaborator:
- Click the gear setting beside the boxes name in order to edit it.
- Under the "Add Collaborator" section, enter their username and submit the form.
- You'll now see a list of collaborators, and if necessary a collaborator can be removed.
Collaborators can edit the box, versions and providers. The only things they cannot do are:
- Add another collaborator
- Delete the box
In order to access these boxes from Vagrant, you'll need to first authenticate with your Vagrant Cloud account.
- Enter your credentials
You should now be logged in. We use these credentials to request a unique authentication token that is stored locally by Vagrant. Your username or password is never stored on your machine.
If you don't authenticate, you will likely receive a
404 Not Found
error in Vagrant. We return a 404 for security reasons, so a potential
attacker could not verify if a private box exists.