To uninstall Vagrant, you can either uninstall the Vagrant binary, the user data, or both. The two sections below detail how to uninstall Vagrant on any platform.
Remove the Vagrant program
When you remove the Vagrant program, it will remove the
vagrant binary and all
dependencies from your machine. It will not remove user data. The next section provides more details on how to remove that directory from your system.
Uninstall using the Add/Remove Programs section of the control panel.
Mac OS X machines
As a super user, force remove the directory and remove it from your path with
sudo rm -rf /opt/vagrant /usr/local/bin/vagrant sudo pkgutil --forget com.vagrant.vagrant
As a super user, force remove the Vagrant directories.
rm -rf /opt/vagrant rm -f /usr/bin/vagrant
Remove user data
The removal of user data will remove all boxes, plugins, license files, and any stored state that may be used by Vagrant. Removing the user data effectively makes Vagrant think it is a fresh install.
On Linux and Mac OS platforms, the user data directory location is in the root of your home directory under
vagrant.d. Remove the
~/.vagrant.d directory to delete all the user data. On
Windows, this directory is,
YourUsername is the username of your local user.
If the Vagrant support team asks you to remove this directory to debug, you should make a backup.
When you use Vagrant again, Vagrant will automatically regenerate any data necessary to operate.
If you decide to reinstall Vagrant, you can follow the installation docs again for any standard method.